Main indexether.netPhotosFunContact

bbcrw.gif (1458 bytes)

Title: Soundhouse
Label: BBC Records REC 467
Date: 1983
Track listing Composer
1 Radiophonic Rock Peter Howell, Roger Limb, Jonathan Gibbs, Elizabeth Parker, Dick Mills
2 Lascaux Peter Howell
3 Computers in the Real World Jonathan Gibbs
4 Seascape Dick Mills
5 The Whale Paddy Kingsland
6 Rallyman Roger Limb
7 Catch the Wind Dick Mills
8 Believe it or Not Malcolm Clarke
9 Planet Earth Elizabeth Parker
10 Dawn Jonathan Gibbs
11 Mainstream attrib. Henry VIII, arr. Peter Howell
12 The Unseeing Eye Malcolm Clarke
13 Fancy Fish Saint-SaŽns arr. Peter Howell, Dick Mills
14 Brighton Pier Paddy Kingsland
15 Armagiddean War Games Dick Mills
16 Yellow Moon Roger Limb
17 Radio Blackburn Elizabeth Parker
18 Macrocosm Dick Mills
19 Land and People Peter Howell
20 Houdin's Musical Box Charpentier arr. Jonathan Gibbs
21 Ghost in the Water Roger Limb
22 The Milonga Malcolm Clarke

rec467.jpg (17572 bytes)From time to time, the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and BBC Records have issued L.P. compilations presenting a cross-section of output of the Workshop.

The last retrospective album was released in 1979 on the occasion of the Workshop's 21st anniversary. Here now is a new collection of tracks illustrating some of the work that has been completed at the Workshop in the 4 years since then.

The most significant advances in technique since 1979 have been in the field of computer technology and at the Workshop we are now using the Fairlight Computer Synthesizer, examples of which can be heard on this record.

There are a couple of other new departures here too.We have, of course, for many years incorporated in our work, when appropriate, musicians playing conventional instruments. There are 4 examples of the blending of electronic and conventional music in this collection. We also have a rather unique Radiophonic event. Each composer has taken a rhythmic percussive sequence from the Fairlight, and written about half a minute of their own music around it. This musical 'autograph album' is the back 'Radiophonic Rock'

Despite technological progess, the Radiophonic Workshop is still what it was when it first came into existence 25 years ago, a creative service department supplying special sound and music to BBC programme makers. In 25 years from now, who knows what sounds will be heard coming from behind the doors of our corridor in the BBC's Maida Vale studios? One thing is certain, the new technology makes the road ahead an interesting one.

- Roger Limb, April 1983

Back to Discography index

mb21 by Mike Brown
Hosted by Astrohosts